Shortlist revealed ahead of WBA awards ceremony at San Jose Wireless Global Congress

London/San Jose – 2nd November 2016 – The Wireless Broadband Alliance (WBA) today announces the shortlist for its annual Industry Awards. The WBA Industry Awards 2016, taking place at the San Jose Wireless Global Congress, aim to recognize and celebrate excellence in wireless innovation.

Now in its fifth year, the WBA Industry Awards encourage and promote successful practices and strategies in different aspects of the convergence and coexistence in the wireless broadband industry. From operator deployments to wireless networks and connected cities, the WBA is championing and celebrating companies across the industry in their efforts to develop a wireless ecosystem. The WBA will – for the first time – also be honoring the WBA Leadership Award to recognize overall efforts in the field of technological innovations, new or disruptive business models and strategies, public policy, advocacy, or other activities that have significantly influenced and impacted the wireless ecosystem development.

The companies that have made the shortlist for this year’s WBA Industry Awards include:

  • Best Next Gen Wi-Fi Operator Deployment:
    • Boingo Wireless
    • Shaw Communication Inc.
    • Telstra
  • Best Converged Operator Deployment:
    • Boingo Wireless
    • KT
    • Telia Wi-Fi with Aptilo Networks
  • Best Next Gen Wi-Fi Network Infrastructure:
    • Affirmed Networks
    • SKSpruce Technologies Inc.
    • TeleWorld Solutions
  • Best Converged Network Infrastructure:
    • Aptilo Networks
    • m3connect GmbH
    • Ruckus Wireless
  • Best Consumer Centric Wireless Service Innovation:
    • Accuris Networks
    • GlobalReach technology Ltd.
    • KT
  • Best Industrial Wireless Service Innovation:
    • Aptilo Network
    • AT&T
    • JCDRAWN with Taipei City
  • Best Connected City Deployment:
    • BT
    • Infocomm Media Development Authority of Singapore (IMDA)
    • The City of New York – Department of Information Technology & Telecommunications (DoITT)
  • Best Wireless Deployment in Rural or Remote Areas:
    • Microsense Private Limited
    • Project Isizwe
    • SK Telecom
  • Best Wireless Innovation and Excellence in Social Impact:
    • KT
    • Project Isizwe
    • Left
  • WBA Wireless Leadership Award:
    • Jessica Rosenworcel, FCC commissioner
    • David Hagan, CEO Boingo Wireless
    • IMDA- Wireless@SG – Singapore’s largest city wide federated public Wi-Fi network
  • Distinguished Member Award (Non-Operator):
    • BSG Wireless
    • Intel
    • Ruckus Wireless
  • Distinguished Member Award (Operator):
    • AT&T
    • Boingo Wireless
    • Orange


“We have been inundated with entries to this year’s awards, and we are thrilled to reveal such a strong shortlist for the 2016 WBA Industry Awards,” said Shrikant Shenwai, CEO of the Wireless Broadband Alliance. “With wireless connectivity becoming increasingly important in all aspects of our lives, recognizing and celebrating companies that are developing innovating technologies and services is a must – and a reason why we created these awards. Congratulations to all those shortlisted, and to the contributions these companies are making to wireless connectivity across the industry.”

The winners of the WBA Industry Awards will be announced on the 16th November at the San Jose Wireless Global Congress.


About the Wireless Broadband Alliance

Founded in 2003, the mission of the Wireless Broadband Alliance (WBA) is to champion the development of the converged wireless broadband ecosystem through seamless, secure and interoperable unlicensed wireless broadband services for delivering outstanding user experience. Building on our heritage of NGH and carrier Wi-Fi, WBA will continue to drive and support the adoption of Next Generation Wi-Fi services need coexistence and convergence of unlicensed and licensed networks  across the entire public Wi-Fi ecosystem, including IoT, Big Data, Converged Services, Smart Cities, 5G, etc. Today, membership includes major fixed operators such as BT, Comcast and Time Warner Cable; seven of the top 10 mobile operator groups (by revenue) and leading technology companies such as Cisco, Microsoft, Huawei Technologies, Google and Intel. WBA member operators collectively serve more than 2 billion subscribers and operate more than 30 million hotspots globally.

The WBA Board includes AT&T, Boingo Wireless, BT, China Telecom, Cisco Systems, Comcast, Intel, KT Corporation, Liberty Global, NTT DOCOMO, Orange and Ruckus Wireless. For a complete list of current WBA members, please click here.
Follow Wireless Broadband Alliance at: